What Jobs Can A 14 Year Old Get In Maryland?
Age Guidelines to Work in Maryland – Both federal child labor laws and Maryland state law are in accordance that the minimum age to work is 14, with some exceptions. Once you determine that you meet the minimum age to work in your state, you can begin to look for jobs for kids,
Can a 14 year old get a job in Maryland?
Want to get a job? In Maryland, you must have a Minor Work Permit if you are between the ages of 14 and 17 years old. For more information about work permits and to download an application, click here.
Can my 14yr old get a job?
Children in employment (part-time work) | Westminster City Council Children of compulsory school age, working before or after school, at weekends or during school holidays, must have an employment permit issued by the council. Under the, a child:
must be 13 years or over before they get a part-time job cannot work during school hours can only work between 7am and 7pm can only work for 2 hours on a Sunday can only work for 12 hours per week in term time must have a 1 hour break if they work 4 continuous hours 13 to 14 year olds can only work for up to 5 hours per day and up to 25 hours a week in the holidays 15 to 16 year olds can only work for up to 8 hours per day and up to 35 hours a week in the holidays
Children are not allowed to work:
in places like a factory or industrial site in most jobs in pubs or betting shops in any type of work that may be harmful to their health, well-being, or education in jobs prohibited in local bylaws without having a 2-week break from any work during the school holidays in each calendar year
Should I get a job at 14?
The Pros and Cons of Allowing a Teenager to Work – Every teenager is different and will respond to new and unique life experiences in their own way. When considering whether or not to allow your teenager to get a job, the main thing to think about is whether or not the job will negatively affect academic performance,
Jobs help kids develop a sense of responsibility, Jobs help kids develop a greater sense of self, Teens that work a reasonable amount of hours —less than 15 hours a week—get better grades than teens who don’t work. Jobs help kids learn to manage money and understand personal finance. Jobs help kids transition from youth to adulthood,
Jobs can add stress to a child’s life. Jobs can expose kids to people and situations they might not be ready for. A teen working a job might feel like childhood is ending too soon. Teens who work too much —more than 15 hours a week—get lower grades than kids who don’t work at all. Teenagers who work have money that could possibly be spent on things that aren’t good for them, such as alcohol or tobacco.
What age can you work at Mcdonald’s?
16, this is also the full time age. Minimum age is 16.
How can I get a job when I turn 14?
What laws affect the hiring of younger teens? – According to the Fair Labor Standards Act, fourteen is the minimum hiring age for non-agricultural employment with limits on the number of hours minors can work and the types of jobs they can perform. For 14 and 15-year-old employees, ALL work must be performed outside of school hours and they may not work:
More than 3 hours on a school day, including Fridays. Over 18 hours per week when school is in session. More than 8 hours per day when school is not in session. More than 40 hours per week when school is not in session. Before 7 AM or after 7 PM on any day, except June 1st through Labor Day, when night-time work hours are extended to 9 PM.
In some states, for jobs that do hire 14 and 15-year-old teens, they may need to obtain a work permit to seek employment. The best way to find out if they’ll need to complete this step is by consulting with their school’s guidance office or your state’s department of labor, “Due to this Jobs That Hire 14 & 15-Year-Old Teens post several years ago, my two eldest started out as sports referees. One as young as 11 and the other at 13. We are a soccer family and since we were spending our lives on the fields we figured, why not?! We were already out there, it was convenient and is fully portable.
My eldest (now 19) went out of state and was able to take his certification with him and referee on his college campus. My next eldest (now 16) decided that certifying as a lifeguard offered a regular schedule and was more lucrative. He became a lifeguard at 15 and was hired by the city in which we live.
He is now a year-round employee, is able to earn sick time, and additional certifications and licenses are covered as well. Additionally, upon turning 18, if he attends a local college and remains employed by the same municipality, the city will reimburse his school fees.
What is the minimum wage for a 14 year old in Maryland?
Minimum Wage – The minimum wage is the lowest wage an employer can pay an employee. Maryland’s minimum wage will gradually rise over time to $15.00/hour. Employers with 15 or more employees
- January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2020: $11.00/hour
- January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021: $11.75/hour
- January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2022: $12.50/hour
- January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023: $13.25/hour
- January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2024: $14.00/hour
- Beginning January 1, 2025: $15.00/hour
Small employers (14 or fewer employees)
- January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2020: $11.00/hour
- January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021: $11.60/hour
- January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2022: $12.20/hour
- January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023: $12.80/hour
- January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2024: $13.40/hour
- January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2025: $14.00/hour
- January 1, 2026 – June 30, 2026: $14.60/hour
- Beginning July 1, 2026: $15.00/hour
Employees under 18 – Employers can pay employees who are under 18 years old at a minimum wage rate of 85% of the state minimum wage. Read the law: Md. Code, Labor and Employment § 3-413 Tipped Employees – Employers may pay “tipped employees” (employees regularly earning more than $30 per month in tips) a lower wage, not less than $3.63 per hour in most of the state.
- An employer can only pay this tipped minimum wage where the employee earns enough in tips to bring his or her average hourly wage to the state minimum wage.
- Employers must supplement any deficiencies to bring the employee to the minimum wage level.
- Read the law: Md.
- Code, Labor and Employment § 3-419 Exemptions – Some people are exempt from the state minimum wage law (though they may still be covered by the federal minimum wage law).
Employees who are not entitled to the Maryland minimum wage include:
- Immediate family members of the employer;
- Certain agricultural employees;
- Executives, administrative, and professional employees;
- Volunteers for educational, charitable, religious, and non-profit organizations;
- Employees under 16 who are working less than 20 hours per week;
- Outside salespeople;
- Employees paid on commission;
- Employees enrolled as trainees as part of a public school special education program;
- Non-administrative camp employees;
- Employees of drive-in theaters;
- Certain food-packing or horticultural employees; and
- Certain employees in cafes, drive-ins, drugstores, restaurants, taverns, or other similar establishments that have annual gross incomes of $400,000 or less.
Read the law: Md. Code, Labor and Employment § 3-403 Local Laws – Your county or city may have its own minimum wage, which can be higher than the state’s minimum wage. Check your local county or municipality’s laws to learn more. Federal Minimum Wage – The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour and applies to employers that operate in interstate commerce, which means they have business or contacts that cross state boundaries, or have contracts with the United States government.