What Is The Legal Tint In Maryland?
How can I tell if my window tint is legal? – Red, yellow, amber, tint with a sparkling effect and reflective window tint is prohibited for all vehicles. Post manufacturer add-on window tint is prohibited on the windshield of any vehicle below the AS1 line or 5 inches from the top of the windshield, whichever is less.
- On passenger cars, convertibles, and station wagons: All windows with add-on window tint must have at least 35 percent light transmittance.
- On multipurpose vehicles, vans, and class “E” trucks that have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) equal to or less than 10,000 pounds: Windows on the driver and right front passenger doors with add-on window tint must have at least 35 percent light transmittance.
All other windows can be tinted to any degree of darkness.
What is the legal window tint limit in Maryland?
Maryland Tint Law – Legal Tint Limit For Multi-Purpose Vehicles –
Front Windshield : Non-reflective 35% VLT tint is allowed on the AS-1 line or top 5 inches of the windshield. Front seat side windows : up to 35% tint darkness allowed Back seat side windows : Any tint darkness can be used Rear window : Any tint darkness can be used
What is the legal window tint for an MPV?
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MD? – This depends on what specific windows you want to tint and what type of vehicle you own. For passenger vehicles like sedans and coupes, none of your windows can be tinted lower than 35% VLT. VLT means “Visible Light Transmission,” and it is used as a measurement of how much light can pass through a car window.
- A VLT of 35% means that the window cannot block any less than 35% of all visible light.
- MPVs, on the other hand, have no tint restrictions for the backside windows and rear windows.
- However, the laws pertaining to window tints for front side windows and windshields remain the same.
- Additionally, windshields can’t be completely tinted; they may only have a strip of non-reflective 35% VLT tint at the very top.
This strip can’t be wider than 5,” and it also can’t extend past the AS-1 line on the windshield.
What is the legal tint for the front of a car?
Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in. Windshield: Non-reflective 35% VLT tint is allowed on the AS-1 line or top 5 inches of the windshield. Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
What does VLT mean for window tint in Maryland?
Window tint darkness in Maryland – The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT : Visible Light Transmission, The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Maryland is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.