What Disqualifies You From Buying A Gun In Maryland?
Under federal law, people are generally prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms if they have been convicted of a felony or some domestic violence misdemeanors, or if they are subject to certain court orders related to domestic violence or a serious mental condition.
Can a felon possess a firearm in Maryland?
Gun Laws in Maryland – The state of Maryland has several rules and regulations pertaining to the ownership and use of firearms. As a gun owner, you should keep the following in mind:
You do not need a permit to purchase or carry rifles and shotguns in the state of Maryland. Registration of firearms and the licensing of owners is also not necessary for rifles or shotguns. You do, however, need a permit to purchase and carry handguns. Registration of firearms and licensing of owners is also necessary for handguns. To apply for a handgun in Maryland, click here. If you do not have a permit, you may not wear or carry a handgun, openly or concealed. Without a permit, you are also prohibited from knowingly transporting a handgun in any vehicle traveling on public roads, waterways or airways. You may not possess a firearm in Maryland if you are a habitual drunkard, a fugitive from the law, are under the age of 21 (for handguns), mental institution patient of 30 days or more, if you are addicted to a controlled substance, are a convicted felon (or have been convicted of a violent crime ), and more. If you are caught unlawfully possessing a firearm, you may spend up to 10 years in prison, and if you have three or more unlawful possession convictions, you may spend at least 15 years in prison. Though the sale or transfer of a rifle or shotgun to anyone under the age of 18 is illegal, it is not illegal to possess a shotgun while under the age of 18. You may not obliterate or alter the manufacturer’s identification mark or number on a firearm. If you do, or even if you are caught in possession of a weapon with an altered/removed ID mark/number, law enforcement will assume you have committed the offense. You may not carry a firearm of any kind on public school property. If you are found guilty of doing so, you may spend up to 5 years in prison You may not have a loaded firearm in an area where you know, or should reasonably know that someone under the age of 16 can access it. Even if you have a gun permit, you still may not use a firearm while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Antique firearms are exempt from certain state laws, depending on individual circumstances surrounding the case.
How do I purchase a regulated firearm in Maryland?
When Should I Apply? – Whenever you wish to purchase, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm you must complete a Maryland State Police Application and Affidavit to Purchase a Regulated Firearm (MSP 77R) via the Licensing Portal, This includes anytime an individual acquiring a regulated firearm through a firearm dealer, secondary sale/private sale, gift, or a person who wishes to voluntarily register a regulated firearm.
What to do if you have questions about guns in Maryland?
Firearm Laws in Maryland | Statutes on Gun Possession If you are in the state of Maryland and you want to obtain a handgun permit, you have to be at least 21 years of age and you have to complete a firearm safety training course. After that, you also must prove that you have not been convicted of any crime that would disqualify you from owning a gun, that you’re not a fugitive, that you’re not a drunk, that you’re not an addict of a controlled substance, that you have not spent more than 30 consecutive days at a mental institution or have been diagnosed of a mental disorder, and that you do not have a protective order against you.
- While a protective order is only good for one year, there is a stipulation that the person must surrender all guns to,
- Everything has to be done properly.
- You would fill out an application with the police or the sheriff in the county where you live.
- That’s the most prudent way to go about this process, because while you’re there, you’ll take a safety training course and they will explain the rules regarding what you can and cannot do.
If you have questions about guns, you can call Maryland State Police and ask to speak with someone about the rules. One of the best things to do is to refer to the Maryland State Police website and look at gun laws, or call a, We know the law and we can advise you as to what you should or should not do and what you can or cannot own.
Can I purchase more than one firearm in a 30-day period?
A person may not purchase more than one regulated firearm in a 30-Day period. You may complete more than one application within 30 days, however you may not transfer or take possession of more than one firearm within the 30 day period. Exceptions to this rule are listed on the Regulated Firearms Collector page.